FLIPBOARD Conference

150831-Engage-Every-Student-2

 

I am a big fan of Flipboard.  I use it as my primary bookmarking service, in class, as my news service, my RSS reader, research, and for just wasting time.

What many people don’t know is that Flipboard can be a great tool in the classroom, as well as used for collaboration between educators across the globe.  A few uses for Flipboard in education:

  • Using animation, photography, video, and gifs to help bring a subject to life.
  • Curating content by subject to create reading plans.
  • Creating shared Magazines for students to share research.
  • Lesson planning and curriculum research.

 

Flipboard is putting togethor a virtual conference to help with professional development.

It starts on Saturday Oct 3rd @ 9am PT.

I will let them explain the rest:::

 

Hello, educators! Please join us and The Flipboard Club on Saturday, October 3, 2015, for a free half-day conference broadcast over Google Hangouts on Air. Learn how Flipboard can be used in the classroom, from pioneering teachers on our platform.

We’ll get started at 9am PT / 12pm ET with some basics about what Flipboard is and how it works, followed by a message from our CEO and co-founder Mike McCue. Then the really good stuff—the sessions—begins. Each one is 30 minutes long, and there will be time for Q&A at the end.

Here’s what we’ll be discussing:

— Curriculum Guides, Independent Study & More: The Teacher’s Guide to Flipboard Magazines  (10am PT / 1pm ET)

Marcelle McGhee is a K-12 education advocate based in Pennsylvania. In this session she’ll give an overview of all of the ways Flipboard Magazines can be used for lesson planning and learning. If you’re an educator who’s new to Flipboard, this is a great place to start.

— Maximize Your Toolbox: Using Multimedia in Classroom Magazines  (10:30am PT / 1:30pm ET)

Linda Bernstein is a professor of social media and journalism at Long Island University, as well as a teacher in the Masters of Professional Writing Program at NYU. She’ll show you how Flipboard Magazines can bring learning materials to life through photography, video, sound and even GIFs. Linda’s approach is effective and fun.

— 5 Ways to Foster Collaboration in Group Magazines (11am PT / 2pm ET)

Amy Vernon is a journalist, digital news consultant, and CMO and co-founder of Predictable.ly. In this session she’ll reveal the magic of collaborative magazines, which allow teachers and students to create “textbooks” together (among other things).

— Extracurricular Activities: Magazines for Clubs, Sports, Newspapers and Beyond  (11:30am PT / 2:30pm ET)

Josh Allen is a technology integration specialist, EdCamp Omaha organizer, President of NETA (Nebraska ISTE affiliate) and co-host of Dads In Ed. He’ll take Flipboard Magazines out of the classroom and show how they can showcase all the great activity that goes on after school.

Head over here to tell us you’re coming and to add a reminder to your calendar. We can’t wait to see you there!

 

Original Source: https://about.flipboard.com/educators/engage-every-student-flipboard-in-the-classroom-a-virtual-conference-set-for-october/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s